Vamousse Protective Shampoo Review – Stop Head Lice

Head lice are back! Is not what you want to see as the title of the parent mail pinging up on your phone. I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who meets this announcement with a groan? Last year the boys caught them on more than one occasion and I would spend the next few weeks meticulously making sure they were free from them. 

However last week when I received the email I was able to start using our Vamousse Protective Shampoo. You use it as part of the daily bath time routine by lathering on and leaving for at least 3 minutes. By using it daily it can stamp out an infestation before it takes hold as it kills the lice before they can lay any eggs. 

Vamousse protective shampoo review

The shampoo comes in a bottle and a little goes a long way. We have been using it for almost two weeks now and there is hardly a dent in the amount. It lathers easily, smells fresh with a tea tree hint and leaves the boys hair silky and soft. Most importantly it contains no pesticides. 

I didn’t realise that it can take almost a month before you can become aware of an infestation. To start with young lice (nymphs) are too small to be seen by the naked eye and don’t cause the itching sensation. 

TheCycleOfInfestation_v1

Since being sent the protective shampoo and using it when alerted to an outbreak we haven’t found any head lice so we haven’t been able to use the Vamousse Treatment. The treatment is quick as it kills 100% of lice and eggs within 15 minutes of contact. There is a video on how to use it and even an APP you can download to keep your kids entertained whilst the Vamousse gets to work. 

Overall I’m really impressed with the shampoo. It’s definitely something that I would buy myself as it is quick and gives peace of mind. I will come back and update this post to let you all know if we manage to avoid the head lice for the rest of the School year. 

You can buy the products online or instore at Superdrug, Boots and Sainsburys. The Protective Shampoo retails at £9.99 which I think is great value as I spent so much last year on treating head lice. 

Disclaimer: We were sent Vamousse products to review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

 

20 Comments

  1. October 16, 2015 / 8:34 am

    Funnily enough I was thinking about headlive yesterday…our three year old has just started nursery and has an amazing head of hair..so I am dreading that day! maybe it’s worth investing in something like this before it happens :-/ #picknmix
    Mummuddlingthrough recently posted…9 types of sleep deprivationMy Profile

  2. October 16, 2015 / 9:12 am

    This looks interesting. Thankfully we have not yet encountered the dreaded headline but this protective shampoo seems like a good way to keep it that way #PicknMix

  3. October 16, 2015 / 9:18 am

    Headlice at school are a nightmare! My children are older now but my girls always had long hair and even when I sent them to school with it tied back they sometimes still caught them. I got into the habit of combing through their wet hair every time it was washed which did seem to help finding anything that was lurking! This looks like a good product. Thanks for hosting #PicknMix

  4. October 16, 2015 / 9:24 am

    Very interesting. Glad there are products out there for this. Thankfully we haven’t had to deal with this and hope to not have to. Strangely enough, this topic of live came up in my middle school class this week because of a book we are reading together. Thanks for sharing. #PicknMix

  5. October 16, 2015 / 10:23 am

    That is such a good idea! I hate the dreaded texts / emails from school too, such a mission with my daughter as her hair is so long and thick. Luckily we haven’t had to deal with the little nits fro several years now, thank goodness!

    #picknmix

    Gemma xx
    Gemma @ Confessions of a nagging mother recently posted…Ten Attractions You Must Ride In FloridaMy Profile

  6. October 16, 2015 / 10:23 am

    That is such a good idea! I hate the dreaded texts / emails from school too, such a mission with my daughter as her hair is so long and thick. Luckily we haven’t had to deal with the little nits fro several years now, thank goodness!

    #picknmix

    Gemma xx
    Gemma @ Confessions of a nagging mother recently posted…Ten Attractions You Must Ride In FloridaMy Profile

  7. October 16, 2015 / 11:50 am

    Loving the idea of headlice prevention – I will definitely be using this! #picknmix
    Silly Mummy recently posted…Draw The ToddlerMy Profile

  8. October 16, 2015 / 12:03 pm

    Oh the dreaded nits. I usually use heard, but this one sounds great. i’ll remember that next time (I’m sure it won’t be long!) Jodie xxx #picknmix

  9. October 16, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    This is amazing. I’ve just shown this to my mum and she’s going to order it. She’s a teach in a school and the amount of times headlice goes around is unreal. xx
    Chloe recently posted…ORGANISE YOUR BLOG #6 – ANALYTICSMy Profile

  10. October 18, 2015 / 9:39 am

    I didn’t even know you could get headlice prevention shampoo – must look it up. We’ve had notices about healice at school recently so I think it’s only a matter of time before E gets it! #picknmix
    Maria recently posted…Babyloss awareness week- my storyMy Profile

  11. October 18, 2015 / 2:49 pm

    Mine haven’t had head lice…yet! Does this contain parabens do you know? It looks like a good product will bear it in mind if and when the head lice strike! #PicknMix
    luce recently posted…pumpkins….My Profile

  12. October 18, 2015 / 4:45 pm

    I can remember back when I was in primary school and I used to get them every week without fail as someone in my class never got rid of them. I’m dreading the day I have to do it to my little boys hair.
    #PicknMix
    Ashleigh recently posted…10 things I love about..My Profile

  13. October 19, 2015 / 7:50 pm

    I had that email a couple of weeks ago and we have been on the look out ever since! I like the sound of this shampoo and may look into getting some although I would be interested to see a review where children that use it have eczema. Thanks for hosting #PickNMix
    Mudpie Fridays recently posted…Convertible Train – Miles KellyMy Profile

  14. October 23, 2015 / 8:20 am

    My head is itching just reading this!! The only time the boys had them I shaved their heads ; ) it’s handy having boys sometimes 😉
    Stevie x
    A Cornish Mum recently posted…Link up time againMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge