Emergency rainy day baking kit review and giveaway

When it comes to baking with the kids, which camp are you in? When I speak to people they seem to be in either the love it, or the hate it camp. I love the idea of baking with my kids and then when I do it I remember why I hate it. It’s messy, I get annoyed and despite being a bit of a perfectionist my baking always has other ideas. It is however a nice activity to do with the kids if you can find something that isn’t going to tip you over the edge trying to achieve.

Zac and Lily have gorgeous unusual gifts, think “Thank you for making me a smart cookie” teacher gifts and Christmas Eve kits. The owner Alex, who is lovely, asked if we would like to review their emergency rainy day baking kit and of course I said yes. It was the summer holidays and we had already had “I’m bored” days at home with the boys and I thought it would encourage, ok, help me in my quest to do some baking with them.

image-20-e1474564489778 - Copy

The Emergency Rainy Day Baking  kit comes with the Zac and Lily chocolate biscuit mix, 1 brightly coloured biscuit cutter, a white chocolate icing pen and multi coloured sprinkles (all natural, no artificial flavours, colours or hydrogenated fats).

“Tiny tots will enjoy the sensory experience and older children will love the creativity and sense of achievement. Mummy and Daddy will benefit from fuss and mess free entertainment for the kids. Then everyone can enjoy munching the results together – rainy days sorted!”

All you need to do is add butter and follow the simple instructions to make 14-18 yummy biscuits. Both boys saw their names on the box which I had put on the shelf waiting for an emergency and were desperate to know what was inside. When we opened it they were both excited and Kyle was able to read the instructions which he enjoyed doing as it meant he could boss us all around. 

image-21-e1474564624479

image

Ava even wanted to get involved much to the chief bakers annoyance! We used Vitalite dairy free spread so that she could have some of the finished cookies. 

image-22-e1474564728754

image-27-e1474564852857

All we used from home was the butter alternative, a rolling pin and of course the baking tray and oven. We didn’t need any fancy equipment or ingredients and even the star cutter was provided.

image-28-e1474564957869

image-29-e1474564994607

When baking the cookies I was impressed that they didn’t all merge together and instead kept their shape. We’ve spent ages making shaped cookies before only for them to end up a weird looking mess. Finlay couldn’t wait to decorate them.

image-34-e1474565133358

image-32-e1474565172726

Here is one of the finished cookies that even James was impressed with. I can confirm that they tasted yummy too.

image

I would definitely use one of Zac & Lily’s baking kits again. The emergency rainy day baking kit is priced at £6.50 so I think offers excellent value. 

To win your own personalised Emergency Rainy Day Baking Kit enter vis the Rafflecopter below, good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

29 Comments

  1. Ashley Perez
    September 23, 2016 / 1:07 am

    I love baking!

  2. emma walters
    September 23, 2016 / 5:13 am

    think i’m a bit like you, no matter how i try i can never get it right!! however i love to encourage my boys to bake, they enjoy it 🙂

  3. September 23, 2016 / 6:15 am

    This looks great – I am definitely in camp love baking. It gets messy but my daughter has so much fun #picknmix

  4. September 23, 2016 / 6:21 am

    Those cookies look gorgeous! Wow and that is a reasonable price too, these are a great idea xx #picnmix
    Claire recently posted…Our RoutineMy Profile

  5. September 23, 2016 / 7:01 am

    I am in the ‘love baking with my grandchildren’ camp. They see it as playdoh with the added advantage you can eat it afterwards 🙂
    #PicknMix
    Suz recently posted…I am Otter: Book ReviewMy Profile

  6. September 23, 2016 / 7:12 am

    I am in the love baking camp!

    After much trial and error I now know what jobs are Leo friendly and what jobs only I can do to make a successful cake. We make a good team in the kitchen actually. This set looks great..love how all the kids got involved xx #picknmix
    wendy recently posted…36 weeks pregnancy updateMy Profile

  7. September 23, 2016 / 8:34 am

    We love baking! and I love getting the children involved. It is so important to teach them this life skill!

  8. September 23, 2016 / 9:12 am

    We love baking here too! It’s the perfect way to pass a rainy afternoon and it keeps my children quiet, both of which are a bonus! Since I went GF a year ago I miss being able to eat the cakes but we do experiment with GF recipes although in all honesty, they are never the same!! This looks like a lovely little baking set! #picknmix
    five little doves recently posted…And then there were two…..My Profile

  9. September 23, 2016 / 10:09 am

    I was in the ‘seems like a lovely idea’ camp and then in the ‘lived to regret it’ camp when I was left with a wrecked kitchen. Looking back, I ‘m glad I did it! Mine are all older now and can bake the most fantastic cakes with no involvement from me at all. One word of warning – I STILL seem to be left with the washing up! xx #PicknMix
    Sharon Parry recently posted…Ten things you shouldn’t do when your kid leaves for universityMy Profile

  10. September 23, 2016 / 10:53 am

    My kids love baking but we have a tiny kitchen and they tend to make a huge mess and nothing ever turns out quite right. I love the packaging of this kit it looks great and simple to use too. Sarah #PickNMix
    Sarah Stockley recently posted…Win a Tree Top Adventure for Two with Go ApeMy Profile

  11. September 23, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    I love baking with my girls, but it can be really frustrating too. I love the look of this kit, it’s great it has everything and you just add the butter. So often Alice will ask to bake and I don’t have all the ingredients X
    Laura @dearbearandbeany recently posted…Becoming a School Mum…My Profile

  12. Alina
    September 23, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    Totally in the baking camp especially for the Fall and Winter seasons. I love baking and giving it away as gifts.

  13. Stafford
    September 23, 2016 / 5:27 pm

    They turned out so adorable! I’m in the baking camp as well. Love, love and LOVE to bake.

  14. Sean
    September 23, 2016 / 5:29 pm

    I love baking with both my daughter and son. This would be a fun activity with them on a rainy day.

  15. September 23, 2016 / 6:13 pm

    Wow they look so delicious! I’m in the naive camp…little one isn’t old enough to bake yet, so I still have TV movie, everyone laughing vision in my head! I’m a perfectionist though, so I know I’ll find it frustrating, but will try to reign in OCD tendencies! x #PicknMix

  16. Hayley F
    September 23, 2016 / 7:49 pm

    I’m in the love baking camp except when it goes wrong x

  17. Margaret Clarkson
    September 24, 2016 / 7:08 am

    The “love it” camp

  18. September 24, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    Such a fab idea. Funnily enough my Ava & I have just baked some chocolate orange brownies. I thought it was a great idea until things got messy and she got bored half way through! Doh! #picknmix

  19. Laura Nice
    September 25, 2016 / 9:02 pm

    I am in the love baking camp!

    I love baking with my nieces! <3

  20. September 27, 2016 / 9:07 pm

    Those look delicious! They look like a really good thing to keep in the cupboard too.

  21. October 3, 2016 / 8:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

  22. Andrea Upton
    October 9, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    I love baking and this looks like so much fun!

  23. Kim Neville
    October 16, 2016 / 12:20 pm

    We like baking cakes and brownies

  24. natalie crossan
    October 16, 2016 / 9:02 pm

    We love cake baking x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge