12 Gifts of Christmas – SwimFin Review and Competition – A Unique Christmas Gift

Welcome to the second post in my 12 Gifts of Christmas series. I have reviewed the fantastic SwimFin and if you scroll down to the bottom you can enter to win a SwimFin in the colour of your choice. Over the next few weeks I will be hosting competitions for 12 different and unique Christmas gift ideas for all members of the family. To make sure you don’t miss any subscribe to my blog posts by filling in your email in the box to the right of the page. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram where I will be posting links to the competitions. I hope you enjoy them and good luck!

12 Gifts of Christmas. A series of competitions and reviews featuring unique gifts for all the family.

My 4 year old was so delighted when he recieved his SwimFin that he promptly put it on, over his clothes and ran around the house pretending to be a shark. SwimFin comes in 8 different colours but he had opted for a black one so he could “look like a real actual shark!” The 8yr old was equally impressed with his red one and they both played sharks and still use them to play sharks a few weeks later on.

Win a SwimFin in a colour of your choice

SwimFin is not meant to be played with in the house although there are no rules against that. It’s actually a pretty cool teaching aid, flotation device and fun water toy all in one. How it works is really clever in that it is suitable from those just learning to swim to those who can swim and are learning stroke techniques. The more of the fin that is in the water the more support it is giving. 

“This means when the child is vertical, doggy paddling through the water, SwimFin will be almost completely submerged, giving maximum support. As the child’s body position becomes more horizontal, SwimFin comes out of the water giving less support. This means the child is swimming more for themselves with less and less assistance. And Swimfin never has to be inflated, deflated, or need to have additional support added or removed”.

When we took the boys swimming in the October half term the SwimFin was brilliant. The 8yr old used it to practise his technique. With the aid of the SwimFin he could focus purely on what his arms and legs were doing. The 4yr old who can swim about 10m (doggy paddle) was so much more confident in the water with it on. He could keep up with his big brother and wasn’t worried at all. He used to be such a nervous swimmer who hated getting splashed and wouldn’t put his face in the water. He’s better now than he was but still isn’t keen on putting his face in. However with the SwimFin on his back he turned in to ‘shark Finlay’ and was keen to put his face in the water so that he could swim around and look as shark like as possible.

IMG_2929

Both boys loved their SwimFins and James’ little boy also wore one when he got tired after swimming around for a while. SwimFin will definitely be something that we continue to use when swimming and will be coming on holiday with us when we go in the summer.

Watch a video of SwimFin in action.

I think a SwimFin would make a great Christmas present as not only is it useful it is fun. Any kid would love one so it’s a great present for those who are sometimes hard to buy for. 

For your chance to win one SwimFin RRP: £21.99 in the colour of your choice enter via the Rafflecopter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms and Conditions

Winner will be notified by email by MummyandMonkeys.

Winner will be contacted by SwimFin and will need to provide their colour choice.

UK entrants only.

 

 

 

64 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    November 16, 2015 / 8:48 am

    For my youngest son thank you!

  2. Laura Nice
    November 16, 2015 / 2:41 pm

    My niece! she would love it! <3

  3. iain maciver
    November 16, 2015 / 4:10 pm

    for my nephew or niece

  4. Charlotte Moore
    November 16, 2015 / 4:34 pm

    For my niece thank you

  5. Sarah Parkin
    November 16, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    I would love to win a SwimFin for my son who is just starting to learn to swim

  6. Martina Pichova
    November 16, 2015 / 9:41 pm

    for my son – he would have so much fun pretending to be a shark

  7. Sarah Mackay
    November 16, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    My daughter lily

  8. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 16, 2015 / 11:53 pm

    For my niece who loves being in the water but cannot swim

  9. claire woods
    November 18, 2015 / 9:25 am

    My son.

  10. Holly Boyd
    November 18, 2015 / 9:56 am

    I would want it for my son he would look awesome in one and would love it.

  11. Stevie Young
    November 18, 2015 / 9:57 am

    For my daughter, Orla (aged 5)

  12. caroline walliss
    November 18, 2015 / 10:03 am

    My nephew.x

  13. JODIE BEAUMONT
    November 18, 2015 / 10:34 am

    WOULD LOVE TO WIN FOR MY DAUGHTER!

  14. pamela gossage
    November 18, 2015 / 10:35 am

    I would want it for my grandson

  15. Jen Schofield
    November 18, 2015 / 2:02 pm

    My little cousin!

  16. Natalie Henderson
    November 18, 2015 / 2:28 pm

    For my niece! 🙂

  17. November 18, 2015 / 3:31 pm

    My friends little girl, she would love it xx

  18. clair brown
    November 18, 2015 / 6:06 pm

    For my Daughter who is learning to swim

  19. Laura Pritchard
    November 18, 2015 / 6:25 pm

    For my little boy!

  20. Sarah Brokenshire
    November 18, 2015 / 8:23 pm

    My little man, Mason x

  21. Sarah Brokenshire
    November 18, 2015 / 8:23 pm

    My little man, Mason x

  22. sandy
    November 18, 2015 / 8:37 pm

    For my 3-year-old reluctant swimmer son. But I suspect Daddy might give it a go too LOL

  23. Lesley Walsh
    November 18, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    My great nephew who is 4.5 years old

  24. sandy
    November 18, 2015 / 9:12 pm

    I ticked the instagram box without paying attention – thought it was twitter. I dont have instagram! Sorry!

  25. Helen Garner
    November 18, 2015 / 10:13 pm

    For my little boy

  26. Jo Carroll
    November 19, 2015 / 10:11 am

    It would be lovely for my little fella to experience the added stability the swimfin provides. He’s just old enough to doggy paddle at the moment but this would help him loads as he improves and gains confidence. x

  27. November 19, 2015 / 3:57 pm

    Great giveaway … my son would love this.

  28. November 20, 2015 / 8:12 am

    I love these fins! My daughter used one at her swimming lessons down here in New Zealand. They are fab. They seem to give just the right amount of support for learners and of course kids seem to love them. What kid wouldn’t want to glide through the water pretending to be a shark! #PicknMix
    Hayley – A box of fluffies recently posted…Friday Favourites!My Profile

  29. November 20, 2015 / 8:44 am

    Haha this is so cool! My little one is a bit too small for this yet but it’s a fab idea when he’s old enough!! Thanks for hosting too! love #PicknMix
    Charlotte recently posted…Low-Fat Strawberry & Peach SorbetMy Profile

  30. November 20, 2015 / 9:15 am

    i’ve heard good things about Swim Fin so interesting to read all about it….#PickNMix

  31. November 20, 2015 / 11:28 am

    That looks like a great toy & also really great swimming aid. I think my kids would run around playing shark in the house too lol Great review. Thank you for hosting hun #PicknMix x
    Becky, Cuddle Fairy recently posted…Galway Food Trail 2015My Profile

  32. November 20, 2015 / 12:17 pm

    This is a fantastic review which has come at the perfect time as we are looking to buy two SwimFins. We would love to win one, because we have just moved close to the sea and really want our kids to learn to swim (in a pool first for obvious resons!), this would be a very fun way to do it especially as we love sharks and our eldest is named ‘Finn’ after a shark’s fin 🙂 #PicknMix x
    luce recently posted…Findus at Christmas…a reviewMy Profile

  33. November 20, 2015 / 12:30 pm

    My son got to play with something similar to the swimfin at his swimming lesson a couple of weeks ago. he was amazed by it haha
    sairish recently posted…To My Children…My Profile

  34. November 20, 2015 / 1:23 pm

    These are great I think having a back float like this is a much better way to teach kids how to swim as it keeps them in a better position in the water than arm bands. Great review 🙂 #picknmix
    Lisa recently posted…Izzy and Ollie book GiveawayMy Profile

  35. November 20, 2015 / 4:35 pm

    This is so interesting! I’ve never seen anything like it before. It would definitely make a great gift although i think my little girl is a little too young at the moment i think one of these would be great in the future #PicknMix

  36. Sarah Ballantyne
    November 20, 2015 / 9:50 pm

    My youngest daughter is desperate to keep up with her big sister but needs some help.

  37. Farhana
    November 21, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    My daughter starts her swimming lesson from January so these would be for her

  38. November 22, 2015 / 9:19 am

    What a cool item! I’ve never heard of them before. Thanks for sharing 🙂 #picknmix

  39. hayley berry
    November 22, 2015 / 9:41 am

    Would love to win for my daughter

  40. November 22, 2015 / 4:01 pm

    These look fantastic! My 4 year old is better at getting his face splashed now, but always worried when he’s in deeper water (even when he can touch the ground), so maybe this is a solution to helping him learn to swim in the learning pool. 🙂 x #picnmix
    Jenny recently posted…Photo Letter DIYMy Profile

  41. kim neville
    November 22, 2015 / 7:40 pm

    My son would like one thanks

  42. Lucy I
    November 23, 2015 / 1:32 pm

    My two year old son who loves swimming

  43. Layla Thomas
    November 23, 2015 / 1:57 pm

    I’d love this for my 8 year old. He can swim but he needs to work on his floating and technique so I think this would really help, not to mention he’d absolutely love it!

  44. Kristy Brown
    November 23, 2015 / 8:46 pm

    My lovely nephew

  45. Diana
    November 24, 2015 / 11:32 am

    My daughter 🙂

  46. November 25, 2015 / 8:46 am

    We were sent a couple of these to review too but have yet to get to the swimming pool to try them out! My boys have been playing sharks with them though – hours of fun right there! #PicknMix
    Maria @ Surburban Mum recently posted…Win a Bennetts for Babies Christmas BoxMy Profile

  47. Kay Broomfield
    November 25, 2015 / 7:14 pm

    I’d want the swimfin for my daughter.

  48. November 27, 2015 / 6:13 am

    I have seen pictures of these but didn’t really understand how they work – they look and sounds great! Will be entering!! I think Monkey would probably want a black one too – to look like a real shark!! Thanks for hosting #PickNMix xx
    Mudpie Fridays recently posted…The Harrods Christmas GrottoMy Profile

  49. Samantha loughlin
    November 27, 2015 / 7:12 pm

    I’d like to win for my nephew

  50. cheryl pearson
    November 28, 2015 / 7:52 pm

    my daughter would love & appreciate this

  51. Andrew Hindley
    December 1, 2015 / 10:48 am

    Would love to win for my grand child

  52. Vera Bahounkova
    December 5, 2015 / 10:46 am

    My grandson Toby

  53. Solange
    December 6, 2015 / 1:26 am

    My son who is just learning to swim.

  54. Keith Hunt
    December 6, 2015 / 8:25 pm

    Looks fun for my friends young child.

  55. Gem Cook
    December 6, 2015 / 9:06 pm

    I would love to win this fantastic giveaway for our little boy. Thank you for the chance x

  56. Natalie Crossan
    December 6, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    My daughter xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge